Chinese Domain Scam
I received this email in my Inbox this morning and it was Screaming to me that it was yet another scam and needed to be “Googled” before any action was taken. Read below and then click the following link to see what I found out when I “Googled”:
“Dear Barnett Websites
We received a formal application from a company who is called Meiao Co.,Ltd are applying to register “barnettwebsites” as their domain name and Internet keyword in China and also in Asia on Nov 13,2008. During our auditing procedure we find out that the alleged Meiao Co.,Ltd has no trade mark, brand nor patent even similar to that word. As authorized anti-cybersquatting organization we hereby suspect the alleged Meiao Co.,Ltd to be a domain grabber. Hence we need you confirmation for two things,
First of all, whether this alleged Meiao Co.,Ltd is your business partner or distributor in China.
Secondly, whether you are interested in registering these domains. (The alleged Meiao Co.,Ltd will be entitled to obtain a domain not needed by original trademark owner.)
If you are not in charge of this please transfer this email to appropriate dept.
This is a letter for confirmation. If the mentioned third party is your business partner or distributor in China please DO NOT reply. We will automatically confirm application from your business partner after this audit procedure.
Bst Rgs
Mark LiRegistration Commissioner
World Domainbox Information Co.,Tel: +86-10-80747734
Fax:+86-10-80747824
Email: mark@boxs.org.cn
Http://www.boxs.org.cn“
Then When I “Googled” I found this website which alerted me that the above letter was indeed another scam! It helped me from worrying and spending extra money, I just hope to return the favor and help someone too. The more valid deterrants we can put out there in Cyber World the better!
I really wish people would stop trying to think of all the ways the Internet can be used for extortion!
Thank you very much for this info! I’ve been looking around all morning for it
keep getting these blooming things!